After generating Resource for the week, you can add and adjust allocations as needed to further customize your team's schedule. Continue reading below to better understand the allocation cards and how to use them.

🎓 Looking for a general overview of using Resource? Click here to get started!


User Header Information

By default, Resource will include team members' names, photos, hours, and any scheduled Overhead in alphabetical order across the top of the screen.


📚 Follow this link to learn more about viewing, filtering, and navigating Resource.


The colored dot next to each name represents the team member's workload, which changes as the allocated hours for the week are adjusted. This is based on the expected Hours Per Week that are entered with the user's Compensation information compared to the hours they are allocated for the week.

If a team member has less than 90% of the expected weekly hours allocated, the dot will turn yellow. When the allocated hours are within 10% of the expected weekly hours, the dot will turn green. When their allotted hours go over the expected weekly hours, the dot will turn red.

Below each name will include any overhead hours that a team member has added for that week, and any missing Overhead hours can be added within the their timesheet by clicking on the Edit button. This area also shows the number of phases that each team member working on for the week, as well as the + Add button to manually add additional allocation cards.


Understanding Allocation Cards

After the Resource schedule is created, project allocation cards will appear under the user headers for each team member with suggested hours, which will vary depending on the generation method that is used.


🚨 Financial information is only shown in allocation cards to users with Edit All Projects permissions enabled. Users that do not have these permissions will only see hours instead of fees.


Allocation Cards

Allocation cards are specific to each user for the phase and role of each project that they're assigned.

These cards display the Project Number (in the Project Color), Project Name, and Phase Abbreviation. Next to the Phase Abbreviation is an icon indicating whether the user has a role in that particular project/phase. If they are not assigned to that project/phase, it will have a line across the icon. Hovering over the role icon will display a tooltip indicating what role (if any) the user has on that particular phase.


The example below shows that user Danielle C. has been allocated 20 hours to work (out of their allowed 40 hours for the week) on 2100 Circle Rd in the SD Phase as a Project Manager.

Default Roles and No Role Assigned

Allocating hours for users with Default Roles within Resource will automatically add them to the project planner and bill at their default rate.

If a user doesn't have a default role and hours are allocated to them on a project they aren't assigned, they will not be added to the planner automatically and will indicate "No Role Assigned" next to the phase name.

Expanded Allocation Cards

The expanded cards display additional information relating to each of the users' roles and the phase as a whole.

For users that are able to see the financial information, the expanded card shows the following details:

  • For the Project's Phase:

    • Appears under the "Team" column when a specific phase is selected.

    • Budgeted, Consumed, and Time Left as a progress bar and in numeric form.

    • Total allocated hours for this week in the circle.

      • As team members log time to a project's phase, the circle will fill in.

  • For the Individuals:

    • Appears under each individual team member when a specific phase card is selected.

    • Individual allocated hours for this week in the circle.

      • As individuals log time to projects in timesheets, the circles will fill in.

    • Role by hovering over icon next to phase abbreviation.

    • Budgeted, Consumed, and Time Left as a progress bar and in numeric form.

Progress Bar

When looking at the Phase Totals or Role Totals, hover over the progress bar to see the total hourly values and percentages.

The colored bar also provides a quick visual of the following information:

  • Consumed Hours - Solid, colored line

    • Represents the hours logged to timesheets

  • Allocated Hours - Hatched, colored line

    • Represents the hours allocated within Resource

  • Remaining Hours - Grey, uncolored line

    • Represents the remaining hours based on the hours allocated in Resource compared to the assigned hours in the Project Planner

  • Forecasted Pace - Solid, yellow dot

    • Represents the estimated pace based on the budget and duration of the phase in the Project Planner


Adjusting Allocations

Updating Suggested Allocations

To update an allocation, hover over the number in the circle and use the +/- buttons to adjust the value. If an allocation will not be a full hour, such as 0.5 or 0.75, click on the number and type in the value.

In the example below, Austin's hours for the DD phase in 2100 Circle Rd. have increased from 2 to 12 hours out of his allowed 40 hours for the week.

Manually Creating an Allocation

Instead of using a generation method, allocations can manually be added by clicking on the Add + button below a user's name. Once here, search for the project by name or number and click on the appropriate phase.


🚨 Updating or creating an allocation will simultaneously update the user's timesheet to show the assigned hours. Learn more here.


Deleting an Allocation

To delete an allocation, click on the subtraction sign in the allocation wheel until the red X appears. This will remove the allocation card from Resource altogether, but in the case that it needs to be regenerated, the card will reappear with the originally suggested hours.

In the example below, Elaine's 12-hour allocation to work on project 1234 Mission St. has been removed and will remain this way unless Resource is regenerated.

Zeroing-Out an Allocation

To zero-out an allocation, hover the hourly value inside the circle to the right and decrease the hours until there are 0 hours remaining, or manually type in 0 in the hourly value. In the case that Resource needs to be re-generated, this will prevent the allocation from reappearing with hours allocated.

In the example below, Elaine's 12-hour allocation to work on 1234 Mission St. has been zeroed-out, and it will remain at 0 if Resource is regenerated for the week.

Did this answer your question?