Sometimes, a project's phase can go perfectly as planned. Other times, it might require everyone on deck – even taking on some individuals who weren't assigned to it.

This is why we give firms the option to assign Default Roles and billable rates. If an individual logs time to a phase that they aren't assigned to, their Default Role and associated billable rate will automatically apply to those hours logged. This will also automatically add the individual to the Project Planner for that phase.


🚨 Once a Default Role is assigned, it will be used going forward in instances where the individual logs time to a phase that they aren't assigned to. Default Roles will not affect any previously logged hours that didn't have a role assigned.

To update existing timesheet entries that have a No Role Assigned warning, please refer to the Audit Timesheet feature.



Assigning Default Roles to Existing Users

Any individuals with Manage Team permissions enabled can assign Default Roles. This also allows them to view and edit the associated billable rates when needed.

Default Roles can be assigned from within two different areas - the Team Directory and the Employee Profile.

Assigning Default Roles in the Team Directory

Navigate to the Team Directory to see information for everyone on your team and look to the Default Role column. Any individual who doesn't have an assigned Default Role will show an Unassigned notice. Click on the pencil icon to add a role.

From here, a pop-up will appear that showcases the roles that already exist in your Settings. You can also add a new role by selecting + Add a role.

After selecting the role to use, click Save to apply it to the individual.

Assigning Default Roles in the Employee Profile

Default Roles can also be assigned to an individual from their Employee Profile. Navigate to the Team Directory and click on the individual's name to open their profile.

From here, click on Edit and select from the Default Role drop-down.


🚨 Once a default role is assigned to an individual, you are able to change the default role that is used, but you cannot remove a default role from an individual altogether.


Inviting Team Members with Default Roles

A Default Role can be assigned to an individual at the time that they're invited to join your organization in Monograph. To invite a team member, navigate to the Team Directory and click on the + Add Member button in the top-right corner.

From here, a pop-up will appear where you can enter the individual's information as well as assign a Default Role.


Editing Default Roles & Billable Rates

If you need to edit a Default Role's name or associated billable rate, navigate to Settings > App Defaults > Company Roles and click Edit.

Clicking on Edit will show you which individuals are assigned to the role so that you're aware of who will be affected.


How Default Roles Affect Resource and Project Planner

If an individual without a Default Role is added to a phase that they aren't assigned to in Resource, the "👤" icon next to the phase's initials will be crossed out.

Hover over the icon and a warning will appear to indicate that there is no role assigned and that you can assign it in your Team Directory.

Now, if you allocate hours to an individual and they haven't been assigned to that phase, but have been assigned a Default Role, then the "No role assigned" icon will not appear.

Hover over the icon and the Default Role that is being applied to that phase will appear.

Allocating hours within Resource to an individual who isn't assigned to the project's phase will automatically add that individual to the phase within the Project Planner using the Default Role. This ensures that everybody's work is accounted for accordingly!


📚 Check out this collection of articles that provide more information on using Resource for allocating your team's time across projects.


Did this answer your question?